Safran is an international high-technology group and Tier-1 equipment manufacturer in its core businesses of Aerospace, Defense and Security. Safran has a solid business model in aviation, based in particular on its long-term partnership with General Electric. Its fleet of engines – both delivered and on order – harbors considerable growth potential because of the associated maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) services. Safran’s systems and equipment are used on many aircraft, and new, more highly integrated work packages are being offered to aircraft manufacturers. In the defense market, Safran’s expertise in inertial navigation, avionics and optronics is widely recognized, and contributes to the enhanced capabilities of armies, air forces and navies in a number of countries around the world. In the growing security market, Safran has bolstered its positions through targeted acquisitions. Safran is a true global enterprise, operating in nearly 60 countries, with a broad-based network of local facilities to ensure quick service for all customers. 

Role in the project


Personnel involved

Nicolas Jeuland (m) is senior fuel expert for Safran Group. After 15 years as Fuel department leader in IFPEN in France, he joined in 2014 Safran in order to lead and coordinate the fuel research for the group. He has authored 50+ publications and is member of ACARE, co-chair of WG3 (final user) of EBTP (European Biofuel Technology Platform). He is also managing the French project dedicated to alternative fuels for aviation and modelling of fuel properties : MOCCASSIN.

Michel Cazalens (m) has obtained his PhD in Fluids Mechanical in 1989 at Toulouse, and his HDR "Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches" in 2009. During the last 25 years he has developed a large and strong expertise in combustion. He is recognized as Senior Expert in the field of combustion for the Safran Group and as Combustion system design reviewer. Coordinator of several European programs like TECC-AE or the LEMCOTEC combustion sub-project, he is also the Chairman of the Low Emissions Combustion Technologies (LECT) clusters.